By admin, July 8, 2011

The 23th International Philosophy Olympiad

will be held in Tartu, Estonia, from May 14 to 18, 2015



The 22nd International Philosophy Olympiad (IPO)

May 15-18th, 2014, Vilnius, Lithuania.


Gold medals

  • Vulpe dan Cristian – Romania - text
  • Elina Karastie – Finland - text
  • Jakob Gomolka – Germany - text
  • Lukas Jonuška – Lithuania - text

Silver medals

  • Jacob Karlsson Lagerros – Sweden
  • Beatriz Santos – Portugal
  • Iván György Merker  - Hungary
  • Abhishek Dedhe  – India
  • João Madeira – Portugal
  • Tadas Temčinas – Lithuania
  • Radosław Jurczak  -  Poland
  • Chagajeg Soloukey Tbalvandany – Netherlands


Bronze medals

  • Benedikt Zӧchling – Austria
  • Rafail Zoulis         – Greece
  • Maša Marić    – Croatia
  • Justinas Mickus – Lithuania
  • Janko Zeković – Montenegro
  • Francisco  Ríos Viñuela - Spain
  • Bernt Johan Damslora – Norway
  • Jani Patrakka – Finland

Honorable mention

  • Federico Aguilar – Guatemala
  • Chan Park – The Republic of Korea
  • Sophus Svarre Rosendahl – Denmark
  • Viviana de Santis – Italy
  • Yuki Kanai  - Japan
  • Martin Molan – Slovenia
  • Marta-Liisa Talvet  – Estonia
  • Rūta Karpauskaitė – Lithuania
  • Vraciu Cosmin Petru – Romania




The 21st IPO 2013 Odense, Denmark

Gold medal:
  • Róbert Palasik (HUNGARY) – Essay

Silver medals:

  • Theo Anders (AUSTRIA)
  • Abhinav Menon (INDIA)
  • Hye Jin Lee (Republic of KOREA)

Bronze medal:

  • Petra Požgaj (CROATIA)

Honorable Mention:

  • Juan Nigri (ARGENTINA)
  • Esteban van Volcem (BELGIEN)
  • Martin Iliev (BULGARIA)
  • Anton Steinø (DENMARK)
  • David Therkildsen (DENMARK)
  • Ida Mosegaard (DENMARK)
  • Magnus Kristensen (DENMARK)
  • Märt Belkin (ESTONIA)
  • Jonathan Krude (GERMANY)
  • Neal Graham (GERMANY)
  • Maria Oikonomoy-Makrygianni (GREECE)
  • Lauris Zvirbulis (LATVIA)
  • Misa Skalskis (LITHUANIA)
  • Dominika Pankow (POLAND)
  • José Forte (PORTUGAL)
  • Vraciu Petru (ROMANIA)
  • Denis Horvat (SLOVENIA)
  • Léonore Stangherlin (SWITZERLAND)
  • Patrik Côté (SWITZERLAND)

Róbert Palasik







“In the principle that subjectivity, inwardness, is the truth, there is comprehended the Socratic wisdom, whose everlasting merit it was to have become aware of the essential significance of existence, of the fact that the knower is an existing individual. For this reason Socrates was in the truth by virtue of his ignorance in the highest sense in which this was possible within paganism.”

Søren Kierkegaard, Concluding Unscientific Postscript to the Philosophical Fragments (1846).


“A tragedy, then, is the imitation of a noble and complete action, having a certain magnitude, made in a language spiced up by diverse kinds of embellishment brought in separately in the parts of the work. This imitation is achieved through characters, not through narration; and, through pity and fears, it accomplishes the catharsis of such emotions. By ‘language spiced up’ I mean a language with rhythm, harmony and song; by ‘kinds of embellishments brought in separately in the parts of the work’ I mean that some parts are worked out in verse only and others with song.”

Aristotle, Poetics, 6, 1449 b 24-28.


“A legally unrestricted majority rule, that is, a democracy without a constitution, can be very formidable in the suppression of the rights of minorities and very effective in the suffocation of dissent without any use of violence.”

Hannah Arendt, On Violence (1970).


Zigong asked: “Is there one word that can serve as a principle of conduct for life?” Confucius replied, “It is the word shu, or reciprocity: Do not do to others what you do not want them to do to you.”

To what extent may this formulation of the Golden Rule, which can also be found in other cultures throughout history, be considered as a universal moral principle?

Confucius (vi-v century bc), Analects 15.23.



The 20th IPO 2012 Oslo, Norway

Gold medals

  • Korea South:  Sarah Yoon – text
  • Lithuania:  Tadas Kriščiūnas – text


Silver medals

  • Denmark: Jeff Granhøj – text
  • Finland: Aleksi Korpela – text
  • Greece: Myrto Vlazaki – text
  • India: Nishith Bharat Khandwala – text


Bronze medals

  • Germany: Niklas Plaetzer – text
  • India: Abhinav Suresh Menon – text
  • Norway: Stian Follevaag Ersvær – text




Honorable Mention

  • Denmark: Kasper Siim Viftrup
  • Guatemala: Vaclav Masek Sánchez
  • Israel: Guy Yassor
  • Korea, South: Sun Young Hwang
  • Latvia: Justine Zepa
  • Lithuania: Michail Sklaskis
  • Montenegro: Djuro Ilic
  • Netherlands: Sadaf Soloukey
  • Norway: Lars Borge Hellesylt
  • Portugal: Diogo José Martins Lopes
  • Romania: Corina Ezaru
  • Serbia: Darko Peric


Comments are closed

Contacts: philosophy.olympiad (at) gmail (dot) com